A Shadow of a Day with Chatti Patti…

Meet Emily.

Emily graduated with an Interior Design Degree from BGSU. She has emailed me for five years asking to work with me after finding me on the web. Go figure. So, after years of emails, we finally decided to meet. Emily took a day off work to shadow me for a day and see what a day in the life of an Interior Designer was like and if at the end of the day she was still interested in the profession. So we started the day at Panera to fuel up and get acquainted while it poured outside.

Here we are just meeting at Panera on Monday, when I asked an innocent by-eater to take a picture of us.  Emily’s eyes are closed, but that’s why I put the real cute one up at the top to make up for it.

Chatti Patti and Emily

 

First stop was with my Client Karen, who is the owner of Creation Nation, the Creative Arts Studio I have had the privelege of designing and planning with Karen for the past several months. The space has officially been turned over to Karen from the Plaza and the build out begins this month. Watch for all the exciting custom designer finishes I am planning for such a unique and fun environment!

This is Karen.  She is modeling some of her latest projects which customers will be able to create themselves in this multi-dicipline, multi-medium art studio. Customers will have many options and will come back again and again because it will be THE place to be. Oh, and there is so much more, but that is another blog post. This is about the day with Emily!

(Isn’t Karen pretty?)

Below are some of the glass jewelry pieces Karen made as examples of what the patrons of this uber cool studio can come and do…

After three hours spent with Karen, it was time to head out to another project under construction. We headed North about an hour to visit Kathy and check on the status of her total Kitchen renovation. I’ve blogged about Kathy before and I will post more updates, but will give you a sneak peak of progress.

Don’t you just love the cherry inset doors and all the can lights? Going for a somewhat shaker look here. Here’s what this exact space looked like a week ago…

I designed a new laundry room to be added by borrowing some space from the garage, but Herb, my contractor does such a good job, you would never know… you will have to come back to see.

Next Stop is about 45 minutes West to Terri’s house where lots of decorating and changes are happening…

This is the “BEFORE” view.

Here is the Proposed Great Room Layout currently in progress.

Didn’t get a picture of Emily here, it was 5 pm by then and still raining…Had to get back on a ladder for a measurement for those really, really tall windows and my painter was there working hard…

In my opinion, the day went by quickly. Emily did send an email thanking me and apparently still wants to get into design.  Glad I didn’t scare her off!

Come back soon for more updates, I can’t wait to share!! Thanks for stopping by.

One thought on “A Shadow of a Day with Chatti Patti…

Leave a Reply

