Kitchen Design ~ Transforming Spaces

 

What a Beautiful Place this will be!  Meet my client, Kathy.  Kathy has graciously selected me to design and manage the remodel of her kitchen.

Client smiling before I rip up her kitchen.

Next I will share some “Before” pictures of Kathy’s kitchen.  Her main requests for the remodel were:

A.  More Storage

B.  Higher quality cabinets

C. New Appliances

D. Lower Maintenance

E. More Light

F. and of course – Beautiful! (That’s where I come in.)

Here are a few pictures of how the existing kitchen looks:

To be famous “Before” Picture

and…

 

OK, one more…

 

What will I do with this space?

After doing the standard review, oh and by the way, behind louvered doors numbers 1 -4 is a laundry area.

So, after giving some thought, I called Kathy and asked her how she would feel if I blew the laundry ‘room’ right out of the kitchen into an addition in the garage. “Why, yes.” she said. “Of course, it depends on how much it will cost.” Of course, so enter my contractor ‘Herb’. I will get a picture of Herb soon, once the demolition begins.

Demo is an almost total gut. Get rid of the soffits, replace the window that looks out over her 5 acre lot with a pond with a much larger bay type window. Nix the brick on the chimney, blow out the ‘laundry area’ add laundry/mud room into the garage space reconfiguring the entry from the garage, install plenty of recessed lights, pendants, chandelier (bye-bye kitchen ceiling fan!) and of course an enlarged island in a contrasting finish, a trademark of mine, custom pieces, plenty of solid cherry cabinets with inset doors for a clean somewhat Shaker look, lots of granite, tile and new appliances. So you see, you will have to come back and SEE for yourself!

One more thing, here are some drawings of what I proposed:

 

Future Kitchen sans laundry area

 

Notice the pantry with roll outs and beverage center in place of existing laundry area.

 

Raised Island with Bead Board wrap.

Here are some of the finishes that will be used in the newly designed kitchen.  Actual door panels are in and I will share with the next Kitchen Design post.

Here are some of the selections that will be used in the newly renovated kitchen!

 

Slate in a Versailles pattern with solid cherry and painted finishes on the cabinetry as well as a very special back splash design! Stay Tuned for more!

3 thoughts on “Kitchen Design ~ Transforming Spaces

  1. I love you choice of materials, can’t wait to see the end result. I know it will be beautiful just like your kitchen. Look forward to working with such a talented designer.

  2. Thank you Erica. I hand draw my designs and floor plans first and often do 3D drawings as well. These particular renderings are from the cabinet vendor whom I work closely with for the desired finished result!

Leave a Reply

