Making Progress

The process of opening a new retail/creative crafting experience space can be enormous! Fortunately, my Client, I’ll call her “Karen” (for Blog purposes) has been researching the heck out of this start-up. The build out and design are merely the icing on the cake so to speak! But what a lovely cake it shall be I must say.

Since the nature of the business is a “Creative Arts Studio” I am called upon to be extremely creative. I am trying to mix creativity with good taste and class but don’t have a term for that yet, at least one that sounds very nice.  Any suggestions?

It’s been a  busy few weeks but we are making headway. Many items on the To-Do List have been crossed off, with items being added to the bottom of the list daily. Recently, I suggested to my client that we visit a local concrete contractor who specializes in stamped concrete surfaces as well as staining and refurbishing existing concrete floors. I’d say it was a successful outing.

In fact,  after meeting with that contractor at the space just a few days ago, I have total confidence in the outcome of the stained and polished concrete flooring that we have unanimously agreed upon.  It’s one of the most effective green flooring choices available. The flooring must be done prior to the walls going up. Once the build-out is complete, the concrete contractor will return to repair, stain and polish the floors.  Also being considered is a more decorative concrete finish in the lobby area along with other surprises. More to come on that later!

Plans and more plans

Burning the midnight oil, everything in it's place.

With space planning nearing completion, my drawings go to the architect and the serious work begins.  While the contractor is installing the restrooms and plumbing, I will begin working on a lighting and electrical plan with the mechanical and electrical engineers. Planning some awesome selections in this phase as well~

Did I say that this project will be extremely GREEN?  Seeing a stack of flush surface 36″ wide commercial grade interior doors left behind from the previous tenant, I had the idea of recycling them. Rescue them from a dumpster by having them cut down from 84″ to 60″, resurfaced with a laminate, table bases added and presto, you have studio tables for a fraction of the cost of new.

Sampling of standard colors, Custom colors available too!

Above is a picture of the sample box of colored glass I received just yesterday from Dreamwalls Color Glass.  What you see is just a few of the core colors they carry and of course Dreamwalls can customize the glass to any hue you desire. Glass is beautiful in addition to being considered green, but a wonderful option in a space where hands and paints will be a frequent visitor to the walls.  Can’t wait to get busy with this part of the project.  Also planning to use glass partitions in place of building out walls with Sheetrock. I became aware of Dreamwalls Color Glass through Twitter Interior Designers Chat! It’s been a great place to meet and learn about new vendors and suppliers to the Trade.

Below is a Spec sheet I prepared for Karen while test driving “Specify” software.  This is another company I learned about during a Twitter Interior Designer Chat. I found this item featured in Apartment Therapy’s newsletter!

Spec Sheet prepared using Specify Software

That’s all for now friends, check back soon for more updates and pictures.  Thanks for stopping by!

6 thoughts on “Making Progress

  1. Hi Mandy, Dreamwalls Color Glass has been great at following up with phone calls to me to answer questions regarding the product selections. Hope to use a few different applications in the space. Stay tuned as the project progresses.

  2. Thank you Sarah! Yes, Interior Designer Chat has been a lot of fun. It’s a great way to connect with other Interior Design Professionals and I have made connections with vendors that I plan to specify!

  3. Thanks for spec-ing Dreamwalls Color Glass. We’re exceited to be a part of the project, and are happy to help answer any questions you may have. Sounds like a really cool project!

  4. This sounds like a fun and challenging project. I hope you will post pictures when it is complete. I am a big fan of Dreamwalls Glass products and Interior Design Chat. Enjoyed reading your blog and I look forward to future posts.

  5. Hi Patti,

    This is such an exciting project; I look forward to watching your progress through the blog. I also really loved the mention of interior designer chat (and you reminded me that I wanted to check out Specify). I’ll be back ~ sarah

Leave a Reply

