Being White

I love white. It calms me down, it makes things appear more soothing and makes spaces look larger. When I see things the color White, I also see light and I love light (as opposed to darkness). Who knows how these tastes evolve as we mature or as we are exposed to various mediums. All I know is that I love white! What’s not to love about all these pictures!

White is still the most popular color for painted cabinetry in 2012

Love the ingenuity here. Not a traditional Dining Room at all, but being created underneath the foyer chandelier is very clever!

Via House Beautiful, Notice that the light plays a significant role in the overall “whiteness” of this space. The luster of the ceiling with it’s laquered finish is incredible!

The overall white scheme of this Dining Room makes a bigger impact. Notice wall color as well as accessories all work together.

The white here speaks of softness and cleanliness!

Lovely.

All Images from Pinterest – credit given if supplied.

According to Color Wheel Pro

“White is associated with light, goodness, innocence, purity, and virginity. It is considered to be the color of perfection.

White means safety, purity, and cleanliness. As opposed to black, white usually has a positive connotation. White can represent a successful beginning. In heraldry, white depicts faith and purity.

In advertising, white is associated with coolness and cleanliness because it’s the color of snow. You can use white to suggest simplicity in high-tech products. White is an appropriate color for charitable organizations; angels are usually imagined wearing white clothes. White is associated with hospitals, doctors, and sterility, so you can use white to suggest safety…”

Thanks for stopping by Chatti Patti Talks Design today. I hope these images *brightened* your day! Stop back soon and see what’s new. Leave a comment if you like!

4 thoughts on “Being White

  1. Hi Marilyn, Thank you for your comment. I agree, takes some bravery like Patrick Landrum stated to have a room with everything being white! I would do it but have to please my other half at the same time, so a compromise is in order. One thing I do love about White is that it is a perfect backdrop for your brilliant pops of color that can be changed when desired. Thanks again Marilyn!

  2. I’m not yet sure how I feel about an all white interior space for me personally; but it looks great when I see it in someone else’s space. Probably because I have kids and dogs so I talked myself right out of having anything to do with white. One of my current clients likes everything, I mean EVERYTHING, white. I’m finding this project a bit of a challenge because I love color so very much. I think I may have to sneak in a color somewhere to feel better. LOL.

Leave a Reply

