My Mom Invented #Twitter!

It’s true. I don’t care what you say. And you heard it here first.

When I was a young girl growing up in Michigan, my mom used to impart words of wisdom to me. Little snippets of information to commit to memory. Most likely 140 characters or less, since she invented twitter, but I didn’t know it way back then. She would tell me things like, “Leave a little bit on your plate, it’s good manners”. She would also tell me “It’s always nice to take a hostess gift.” “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all”; notice all these sayings will fit into a tweet. Ingenious!

I would just look up at her and think, “Wow, she is really smart”. Wonder how she knows all this amazing information. Big questions from a then 6-year-old. Then one day, I asked my Mom, who, by the way, led by example in always leaving a couple of bites on her plate and always taking a piece of crystal to everybody she knew and even every time she came to visit me after I entered holy matrimony, thus my very own wonderful collection of antique and cut crystal, thank you very much!, so as I was saying I asked my mom “Mom? How do you know these things?”  and SHE REPLIED “A Little Bird Told Me!” THEN I replied, “Mom, birds don’t talk!” (I didn’t know about parrots yet) and then she said (are you sitting down?) “No, but they tweet.” OMG, it dawned on me several months ago and I just knew I couldn’t keep it a secret any longer. MY MOM INVENTED TWITTER!

Unfortunately she did not live to see me communicate with people around the globe via tweets. She would be so proud that I turned my Elementary School Conduct Score of 4 due to “Talking too much” into something somewhat useful, thus Chatti Patti. Some of these “tweeps” (Peeps that tweet) as we refer to them, I will soon have the opportunity to meet in real life when I travel to LONDON! with the Modenus Blog Tour London which I am so blessed to be a part of! Kind of like meeting your European pen pal from your childhood. I had one of those, did you?

Some of the events that we will attend on this tour are:

TENT LONDON

 “London Design Festival’s most diverse design event; a vibrant showcase of the best contemporary design taking place at The Truman Brewery, Brick Lane, London” 

 DESIGN CENTRE CHELSEA HARBOUR LONDON

DESIGN JUNCTION 

 “The largest destination for design and culture during the London Design Festival”

DECOREX INTERNATIONAL

“Decorex International is an exquisite interiors event at the heart of the London design community.”

AND MORE! I’ll be blogging all about it very soon!

I will be tweeting live from London about all of the wonderful sights and with each tweet thinking of you, Mom.

Mom and Dad on their Wedding Day. They eloped but don’t they look so happy?!

Thanks for stopping by Chatti Patti Talks Design. I hope you enjoyed learning about my mom, twitter and Blog Tour London (#BlogTourLDN!) Leave a comment, love to hear from my readers!

One thought on “My Mom Invented #Twitter!

Leave a Reply

